WordPress Just Read My Mind

I was drafting a post in Google Docs because the WordPress editor is a pain to use on the iPad.  I finished it up on my laptop and was about to paste it into the WordPress editor when a pop-up asked me if I wanted the WordPress.com Add-on for Google Docs which lets me “compose a document in Google Docs and export it directly… as a draft post.”

I installed the add-on and I love it!  It even lets me choose tags and categories from within Google Docs!

Now I’m wondering – was that pop-up a coincidence? Or did they know?

Screen Shot 2018-05-24 at 10.36.20 AM

2 thoughts on “WordPress Just Read My Mind

  1. They ‘knew’. Google and WordPress knew. If you were using an iPad, they know because they can see that you’re using an iOS device with an iPad size screen. Also, you were using Google docs and WordPress at the same time. All your behavior points to you being the perfect candidate to download this plugin/app.

    Too many people assume that these little coincidences are just that, when they are actually targeted advertising working its magic. Thanks for sharing your experience!

    Like

    1. I know it’s easy to figure out what device I’m using (it was a laptop in this case), but I wouldn’t expect WordPress.com to know about other tabs I have open in my browser. How would they go about getting that info, if that’s something they knew and not just a coincidence?

      Like

Leave a comment